No Favorites
View Full List

Toyota Safety Sense

Toyota has a long history when it comes to driver, passenger and pedestrian safety. They’ve recently unveiled Toyota Safety Sense – a suite of advanced safety technologies designed to keep you safe on the road. 

2015 Toyota Safety Sense Package


Toyota are constantly evolving their safety technology offerings, and this year will introduce the Toyota Safety Sense range of safety devices, which will help protect both you, your passengers and other road users at the same time. This new suite of technologies will be available as an optional extra on new Auris, Avensis, AYGO and Yaris later this year. Toyota anticipates that by the end of 2015, 70% of customers in Europe will be able to add the Toyota Safety Sense Package to their new Toyota, either as standard or as an optional extra at a reasonable price.

Toyota Europe President and CEO Didier Leroy said of the new technology:

“It is only when such safety systems are in widespread use that they can have a real impact on eliminating traffic accidents and fatalities. That’s why Toyota has decided to launch the democratisation of advanced safety technologies in its cars.”

So in answer to the question ‘How safe is your Toyota?’, the answer is very safe indeed.

Lane Depart Alert – Toyota has been offering Lane Depart Alert (formerly known as Lane Departure Warning) on some models since 2002. This system makes use of cameras situated behind the rear-view-mirror, which monitors whether or not the vehicle is staying inside the lanes on a motorway. If the system detects that the car is straying over the white lines without indicating first, both audio and visual warnings alert the driver.

This system will soon be available on AYGO, Yaris, Auris and Avensis models as part of the Toyota Safety Sense Package.

Pre-Collision System – Using data provided by sophisticated sensors on the front of the vehicle, Toyota’s brand new Pre-Collision System is able to detect when a collision is imminent, visibly and audibly warning the driver of the prospect. If the driver does not react, or there simply isn’t enough time to react, the system is capable of autonomously applying the brakes, minimising the force of the impact or avoiding the collision altogether. The system operates at speeds between 10 km/h and 80 km/h, which research suggests is the speed at which 80% of all rear-end collisions occur.

Automatic High Beam – Like having Man’s best friend with you. But Better. (Watch the video below if that doesn’t make sense…). This feature is able to automatically switch between high and low beam, based on sensory inputs such as the headlights of oncoming traffic, pedestrians and taillights of the car in front, helping you to avoid dazzling other road users.

Road Sign Assist – Road sign assist is another system that makes use of small cameras, though in this case they’re looking out for road signs. This clever system has the ability to recognise what they mean and display them on the TFT screen in front of the driver – so you’ll always know the speed limit. It’s not just speed signs that the system can read however, it is also capable of recognising no overtaking warnings and motorway signage too. It’s like having a policeman sat in the passenger seat reading the speed signs out loud for you… but better.


Yaris NCAP


How do Toyota cars keep you safe?

Each year Toyota Global spends considerable amounts of money ensuring that their cars are equipped with the very latest technology that will protect you in the event of an accident (this is called passive safety technology), but also try and prevent accidents happening in the first place (active safety technology).


Verso airbags

Toyota models are fitted with a massive range of safety technologies that aim either to prevent an accident from occurring or reduce the injuries if an accident does occur. Below are some of the features that many Toyota models offer as standard or as an optional extra.

Airbags – all Toyota cars come with a multitude of airbags to keep you safe in the event of a collision. The new Yaris for instance has seven airbags, including driver, passenger, driver’s knee, front side airbags and curtain shield airbags that protect both front and rear passengers.

ABS, EBD and BA – ABS (Anti-lock brakes) prevent the wheels from locking under harsh braking, EBD (Electronic Brakeforce Distribution) optimises the amount of brake force being distributed to each wheel, and BA (brake assist) applies extra brakeforce when emergency braking is taking place.

Vehicle Stability Control – VSC is an electronic system that has the capability to activate the brakes on individual wheels as well as control the engine output to ensure vehicle stability and prevent skidding when turning sharply or on wet/icy road surfaces.

Adaptive Cruise Control – ACC has been around since 1997, but is now available on more mainstream models here in the UK. It’s an active safety mechanism that takes regular cruise control and adds an extra element of safety. By using radar sensor to monitoring the speeds of the vehicles travelling in front of you on the road, ACC has the ability not only to reduce your cruising speed if the car in front slows down, it’s also capable of increasing your speed back to its previous level if the vehicle in front turns off or speeds back up.

It’s currently available on Avensis, Prius and Land Cruiser models, but as part of the Toyota Safety Sense Package it will be available as an option on the AYGO, Yaris and Auris too.

This system will soon be available on AYGO, Yaris, Auris and Avensis models as part of the Toyota Safety Sense Package.

Blind Spot Monitor – The Blind Spot Monitor works like a second pair of eyes, peering out the rear corners of your RAV4 or Land Cruiser, watching for vehicles in your blind spot. If a vehicle is present in your blind spot and you indicate to change lanes, a warning light illuminates inside the wing mirror to let you know that it is not safe to move over.

Intelligent Park Assist – Intelligent Park Assist (IPA for short) was first seen in 2006, with the Prius the first Toyota model to offer it as an option in the UK. It’s an almost magical system that takes control of both the reverse and parallel parking procedures, manoeuvring you perfectly into position without any steering input from the driver.

Rear Cross Traffic Alert – This innovative feature uses sensors on the rear of the vehicle to alert the driver of any impending traffic moving past the rear of the car. This is extremely useful when reversing out of car parking spaces, particularly in multi-story car parks where visibility is at a premium. RCTA is currently available on the RAV4 and Land Cruiser models.


Fancy a new and very safe Toyota? View our latest new Toyota offers.

To make sure every Toyota is fitted with more than just adequate safety features, Toyota uses information and data taken from accident investigation reports as well as conducting human research in order to determine why accidents occurred in the first place, and what caused the injuries to the vehicle occupants. Toyota’s ultimate goal is to eliminate road traffic accidents completely, by promoting an integrated ‘Three Part Initiative’ in order to pursue real world safety.